Two steps forward and one step back

That is what is happening on this yoga-path. Two steps forward, one step back, but maybe it isn’t one step back always, it just feels so.

Yesterdays class I went to the 11 am class that usually is a great time for me, but maybe I woke up to early and didn’t dare to eat something more than I did so I was totally exhausted. Maybe it was that I still have some trouble sleeping the whole nights through that my body took a break. After a very strong standing series I did the first set of Cobra then I fell asleep or drifted very far off more or less the rest of the class. I just couldn’t move the body. It was a tough class for many, one left, many dropped down. I took a nice walk home in the sun and grabbed a sushi on the way and after I just ended up in my sofa with a blanket sleeping for some more hours.

So this morning when I woke up I didn’t want the same experience and I wanted to spend some time with my family I decided I would go to the 4 pm class.

It was a great class! The perfect temperature and humidity, Michelle teaching in a very gentle way asking us kindly to work harder, pushing us very far. In Cobra I am really trying to point my legs straight back instead of keeping the heels together as I have so crocked legs. Then after the first set of Grasshopper the cramp in my tail-bone came. I still feel it sore now 3 hours later….

I know that I am supposed to continue to work through the cramp but it was just to much and not knowing how to move the body to un-cramp it. After a couple of poses I could join in again and finish of strong. And Michelle corrected Miss Green a couple of times (I had a green towel today) and I thought it was good corrections for me and was very grateful, but has Michelle forgotten my name? No the girl on the other side from me had a green top.

I talked with Michelle after class and she told me that it is (as I asumed) perfectly normal. I just have to be very careful setting up the Cobra, keeping my but tight and pressing the pubic bone into the floor as I really keep my legs and feet straight, using the muscles on the inside of the leg.

I also noticed some other things, during Halfmoon side-bends I normally keep my body kind of straight but now my hips sway around and I have to work so much harder to keep everything in one line.

And in Tree, lifting my right leg is usually not as good as the left side, but something happened there as well. I feel the hip in another way and my foot didn’t slip as it uses to out of my hand.

Hmm, I think something is happening in my whole hip-area. Painfully lovely.

About ahappyyogi

A yogini with a great interest in sailing.
This entry was posted in Birkam yoga, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two steps forward and one step back

  1. Traci says:

    Ah yes, it’s amazing how our yoga practice and postures seem to change daily isn’t it? Crazy! Happy monday!

Leave a Reply

