Day 80, hamstrings are yielding

If something is happening several days in a row, it can be a trend and most of all it can be so.

My hamstrings, the tight, resistent, stubborn suckers have finally yielded a bit. I am more stubborn, they never had a chance anyway.

I think it was one of Emmy’s advice that have helped, when stretching the hamstrings you can’t put weight on them because then they will be confused.

DancingJ have written a lot about the dialogue lately. That has moved a lot in my head about the dialogue as well. There are a lot of things I love about the dialogue, but there are things I don’t like.

Many years ago I worked with an autistic child and when telling her what to do and what to not do it became a mind challenge for me. She never catched the don’t. Like in “Don’t walk in the water-puddle.” In her ears it became “Walk water-puddle.” Instead I had so say something like “Walk on dry ground”.

In the dialogue there are lots and lots of this kind of things.
Second part of awkward
Teacher says: “Don’t blink your eyes, you might loose the balance.”
Me: Blink my eyes and loose balance.
In Stadning Bow
Teacher: “If you fall out, come in again.”
Me: Falling out, and coming in again.
In Balancing Stick
Teacher: “Not a broken umbrella”
Me: Body curls up a bit

There are several of this kind of things in the dialogue and in class I try to listen and follow what is said and then I think it is not so good to have this kind of things in the dialogue. When teachers rephrase this kind of sayings to the class seems to be more precise.

About ahappyyogi

A yogini with a great interest in sailing.
This entry was posted in 101 days of yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 80, hamstrings are yielding

  1. thedancingj says:

    You know, I have to agree – when I practice, that line in standing bow is the only part of the dialogue that I don’t like! I used to lose the balance EVERY time I heard someone say “if you’re losing the balance…” 😛

  2. Johan says:

    Too true, the brain is not really geared up for negative thinking. It why things like “don’t think about X” never works. I bet working with that child in the past helps a million at work every day now? Remember what Bikram said about babysitting.

    Great news about the hamstring.

  3. That’s funny because for a looong time I would always fall out in standing bow when that line about getting back in if you fall out would come. LOL

    • ahappyyogi says:

      It’s almost that it implies that one should fall out just to be able to get the chance to get in again.

  4. catherine says:

    I *always* blink my eyes right then. I can’t help it.

    • ahappyyogi says:

      In English it is semi not ok, but in Swedish we speak the other way around, blink not. And coming to the not I’ve already blinked.

Leave a Reply

