Happy to be alive

Todays class was a good one and in the first set of Rabitt I had a good grip of my feet, I exhaled and exhaled and I tried to look very far up my chest, like up over breast-level and something relaxed in the back so I just folded so much more forward than I ever have done before. I just thought that it was amazing that I could get my hips so high up. As I felt very relaxed and didn’t mind my breathing I tried to breathe in again. I was throat-choked. So I came out of the posture and grasped kind of loudly for air so even the teacher looked at me and asked if it was ok. And yes, it was OK, I just throat-choked myself a bit to much and after 3 breaths everything was normal again and I continued class as nothing.

In the final savasana I just layed there and felt so happy to be alive, to be able to breathe and my thoughts went back to when I was just starting to scuba-dive. I was in a situation that could have ended bad. For some reason I had a mouthpiece in my mouth with some holes in it so after a couple of breaths all I could breathe was water. When I realized that I was not getting any air I decided to head for the surface. Luckily the instructor saw what happened in the murky water and grabbed me and took me to the surface as I passed out. They told me later that the first breathe that I took on the surface was very loud. I must have been in some kind of chock and not really understood what have happened as I did continue to dive the next day and have continued to dive after that (I am an instructor today).

Somewhere along the line I have understood what I have gone through but I have never thought of that instructor that helped me to the surface and took care of that I came ashore and never thanked him for saving my life.

Thank you dear instructor for saving my life.

You might never read this but I hope that the thought travels out in space and into your heart.

About ahappyyogi

A yogini with a great interest in sailing.
This entry was posted in Birkam yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy to be alive

  1. catherine says:

    This is really beautiful! I, too, had a scary few moments while learning to scuba dive. Thanks to your instructor for helping you; without that, we might not be reading your thoughts today.

  2. Wow, what a story! Good for you for continuing to go and not let fear block you. That’s very brave!

    • ahappyyogi says:

      When you are saying this I really see that fear is such a power to hinder us in our lives. Thanks I will ponder on that.

Leave a Reply

