When you feel vulnerable, open your hands upwards

Today I had one of my favorite teachers that I hadn’t seen for a long time. She keeps a discipline in the classroom and gets everybody to be still between every posture and Oh, how she can get the best out of everyone.

I came into class with this big smile on my face and left with an even bigger smile.

After first set of Camel as everyone was feeling the deep backbend she said, when you feel vulnerable, open your hands upwards. This was so beautiful as it just took away any drama from anyone in the classroom and I just felt I have to take this advice with me into life.

Some workdays are more interesting and challenging than others and I will try to keep this in mind when those days come to open the hands upwards. It doesn’t have to be a big thing but like sitting by my desk and instead of keeping the palms towards the desk and closing the hands it is easy to open the palms upwards for a moment and then it is very hard to tense the shoulders.

When speaking with someone and it is a difference of opinion if I open the hands to that person and lower the shoulders the body language tells that I am open for discussion and it is easier to talk together in a grown up manner.

I think this will even show over the phone, as if I have my shoulders lower it is hard to put the voice into that tone that sounds irritated.

Small things but they can make a huge difference in life.

Another thing with having a pause from the yoga is that when some of the strength goes away and it feels like starting over again it is actually a good thing to do some times, like once or twice a year. With this break and muscles go away it is like finding new things again.

In every class we always hear, such your stomach in, but you need a certain amount of strenght to really feel what happens in the forward bends while sucking in the stomach. Sucking it in strengthens the stomach to be able to feel. I’ve had this revelation before and I am sure I will have it again, but here it comes; It’s ALL about the stomach! It adds another dimension to the forward bends. So today my stomach came back to that state where I could feel this so clear again.

Hurray for revelations, and there is nothing bad that doesn’t have anything good with it!

About ahappyyogi

A yogini with a great interest in sailing.
This entry was posted in Birkam yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When you feel vulnerable, open your hands upwards

  1. I love the title of this post. The title, on its own, is worth remembering, practicing, living. Thank you!

  2. catherine says:

    What Hannah said. 🙂

    The title was in my mind this morning during my 15-minute walk along busy city streets. It was a really nice change from the closed-hands, shoulders-up way I often walk to work. Thanks!

  3. Man, I love teachers with such compassion!

    And I love their little mantras like this which just slowly help us transform our lives for the better. One of my teachers constantly reminds us, “You’re worth more than a million bucks.” Another always says, “Get into the room and out of the crazy.” And my personal favorite, “If you let someone else steal your peace, you lose!” A true Bikram-ism.

    Thanks for the post!

  4. Found out your blog post via bing the other day and absolutely like it. Keep up the truly amazing work.

Leave a Reply

