Breakthrough

Hello world!

It’s not so often that I do write at the moment, it has been much lately so when I come home it is food, fix with the household and then bed to be ready for a new day.

I started another 30 day challenge with the studio. Today is day 12.

This challenge is such a different challenge from the others that I have done.

It all started a couple of months ago when I felt that my lower back and hips started to open up. That area has been so tight that my 2 m tall, former basket-ball player with hands like a toilete lid, chiropractor hasn’t been able to adjust it. He has been using massage, stretching and acupunture, but nothing has helped. Hip area stuff and stuck as a cement-block. Something started and then came the pain. The pain has been there in every class, like little knifes digging around in almost every posture. Can you imagen Wind Removing or Half Tortoise beeing painful? Camel, Triangle, Balancing Stick or Stadning Head to knee is understandable.

It has been tough, it has been painful, it has been emotional.

Slowly it has become better, less painful and I have become stronger.

Yesterday I did a double, 7 am and 6 pm and in the evening class something poped in the hip area. When walking home from the bus it was so strange to walk, like the hips didn’t really know how to do this motion anymore. It was so totally wiered.

Today the hips where sore and I feel that I do walk a bit different than before. During class it was amazing, the first class in a long time that was totally pain free. This is what I have been working towards for so long now that I had almost forgotten how it was to have class where it feels like I am working in the postures to a greater depth and not meeting the pain and having to breath though and into it. Pain releases something in the body that, at least for me, makes me quite a bit overwhelmed.

I guess it will be a bumpy road from here and I will still have classes meeting the knives but it feels like I am over the huge mountain and it will only get better from here.

About ahappyyogi

A yogini with a great interest in sailing.
This entry was posted in Birkam yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breakthrough

  1. Olga says:

    Thank you for sharing this. I have similar experiences with a chronic challenge in my hips. It’s an ever evolving journey. Your story gives me hope to stay curious and excited with the poses that challenge me!

    I just posted this blog–What’s In Your Heart? [Part 2] | Coach Olga
    on the http://chickswhoknow.com/ blogsite.

    Read this to learn how to stay centered, balanced & prepared to handle all of life’s surprises. Have a wonderful week!

  2. Great article and good for you. Keep at it!

  3. aparyoga says:

    Quite interesting and useful article. Thanks for sharing.
    http://www.aparyoga.org

Leave a Reply

